The Basics of Astrology

March 7, 2022

Astrology is a mixture of art and beliefs, not science, that applies a symbolic meaning (zodiac sign) to all the astronomical information we have gathered for over two thousand years. Today, western astrologers use the tropical zodiac that starts with the sign Aries during the end of march of each year. 

Western Astrology originated around 500 BC, with a concept called the Zodiac. This consisted of an imaginary sphere surrounding the earth, which followed the path of the Sun through the constellations during the year. The Zodiac was split into twelve sections, each named after the specific constellation noted in that area (zodiac signs)

Astrologers create your zodiac sign chart (birth chart) based on the date, time, and place you were born. They then proceed to interpret everything in your chart and provide you an insight into your personality; examining specific trouble spots in your life; comparing and contrasting your chart with that of a loved one, friend, co-worker, etc.; looking at career options and financial indications; finding the best place to live; forecasting future opportunities; selecting the best time for a wedding, to start a business, etc.; spiritual growth; and, answering questions. The more accurate the details on your birth chart, 5:37pm instead of 5pm, the more accurate this insight will be. 

The Elements And Astrology

Many ancient philosophies used a set of classical elements to explain the way nature behaved. Each sign was connected to one of the classical elements (fire, earth, air, or water) and was also related to a region of focus; social, personal or universal.

  • Water signs are related to growth processes, identification and emotion. In tandem with the other elements, water feels that fire will make it boil, air will evaporate it, but earth will shape and channel it.
  •  Fire signs are related to action, passion, and energy. In tandem with the other elements, fire feels that earth will smother it, water will drown it, but air will fan and enliven it.
  •  Air signs are related to thought, perspective and communication. In tandem with the other elements, air feels that water will obscure it, earth will suffocate it, but fire will inspire and uplift it.
  •  Earth signs are related to sensation, stability, and practicality. In tandem with the other elements, earth feels that air will dry it, fire will dry it, but water will refresh and nourish it.

Astrological Sign Modalities

Each sign is connected to one of three modalities; cardinal (sometimes referred to as movable), fixed, and mutable. There are four quadrants following the order of the zodiac signs, with three signs in each. Each quadrant describes a season, beginning with a cardinal sign, continuing to a fixed sign, and ending with a mutable sign.

  •  Mutable signs are related to adaptability, resourcefulness and holism. They are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.
  • Fixed signs are related to determination, focus and individuality. They are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.
  • Cardinal signs are related to creativity and initiation. They are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn.

Zodiac Signs Characteristics 

Not let me give you a brief summary of the Zodiac Signs and their characteristics:

  • Aries (cardinal, fire, personal): defensive, energetic, head down, assertive, impulsive.
  • Taurus (fixed, earth, personal): patient, indulgent, resourceful, thorough, devoted.
  • Gemini (mutable, air, personal): quick, logical, inquisitive.
  •  Cancer (cardinal, water, personal): clinging, protective, sensitive.
  •  Leo (fixed, fire, social): theatrical, generous, proud.
  • Virgo (mutable, earth, social): critically, practical, efficient.
  • Libra (cardinal, air, social): lazy, co-operative, fair.
  • Scorpio (fixed, water, social): anxious, passionate, sensitive.
  • Sagittarius (mutable, fire, universal): careless, free, straightforward.
  • Capricorn (cardinal, earth, universal): suspicious, prudent, cautious.
  • Aquarius (fixed, air, universal): detached, democratic, unconventional.
  •  Pisces (mutable, water, universal): distracted, imaginative, sensitive.

Next week we will chat about the connection between the Sun, the Moon and the planets with your birth chart. Have you ever been asked “what’s your moon or rising sign?”. I got you boo!!!

Leave a comment below with your sign and if there is any characteristic above that you find accurate. XOXO,
Erika Michelle



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Leave a comment